Alumni Association Committees

The Alumni Association Committees implement programs responsive to the interests of the alumni community and other social service professionals. Alumni who wish to get involved in the SSA Alumni Association may contact the Alumni Association Office.

  • African American Alumni Committee: The African American Alumni Committee seeks to establish connections among African American alumni and engage this underrepresented segment with the School. Co-Chairs: Esther Franco Payne, AM ’99 and Tawakalitu Jogunosimi Mitchell, AM 01
  • Awards Committee: The Awards Committee solicits and reviews candidates and selects recipients for the Edith Abbott Lifetime Achievement Award, the Elizabeth Butler Award honoring recent graduates of the School in alternating years, and other professional achievement awards conferred by the Alumni Association. Chair: Charles Scurr, AM 75
  • Communications Committee: The Communications Committee facilitates the sharing of information between board committees, and communicates initiatives and programs to the Alumni Community. Co-Chairs: Ingrid Mejia, AM 08 
  • Fund Development Committee: The Fund Development Committee, alongside the members of the Board, partners with SSA and the Visiting Committee to enhance alumni giving. Chair: Marshall Jacobson, AM 65
  • Networking and Professional Development Committee: The Networking and Professional Development Committee plans activities which facilitate professional networking among alumni and between alumni and students. Co-Chairs: Chris Jaffe, AM 12 
  • Board Development Committee: The Board Development Committee engages and recruits alumni volunteers for future consideration on the Board. Committee members assist with marketing and publicizing the nominations process, as well as reviewing candidates and selecting future Board members. Chair: Loretta Maestranzi, AM 14
  • The Washington, DC Committee: The DC Committee organizes learning and networking opportunities for the SSA alumni community living in the DC metro area, as well as a mentoring program for new SSA graduates. Chair: Patricia Giffin Hanberry, AM 75
  • Executive Committee: Alison Weston, AM ’08, President; Ashley Jackson, AM 11, Vice President; and Loretta Maestranzi, AM 14, Secretary