Faculty Awards

Award for Excellence in Doctoral Student Mentoring at SSA

The Award for Excellence in Doctoral Student Mentoring at SSA recognizes and honors faculty members who have provided exemplary advising and mentoring to SSA doctoral students. Full-time SSA faculty members are eligible for the award.

Award winners are selected based on the faculty member's contributions to students' scholarly and professional development, as well as to enhancing students' overall experience in the doctoral program. This includes but is not limited to: advancing students' thinking and knowledge in their area of research; providing opportunities for students to develop research skills (i.e. data collection or analysis, manuscript writing, etc.); contributing to students' professional development by, for example, helping to make connections with other scholars and supporting conference presentations; and advising students on setting goals and providing support for meeting those goals.

SSA Doctoral students nominate faculty and a selection committee from the SSA faculty and administration make the final decision on the award winner based on the letters of support. The winner is recognized at the Student Hooding Ceremony each June.

The School proudly recognizes the following faculty for Excellence in Doctoral Student Mentoring at SSA:

2018: Yoonsun Choi

2016: Jennifer Mosley

2015: Alida M. Bouris

2014: Gina M. Samuels

2013: Julia R. Henly 

William Pollak Award for Excellence in Teaching

William Pollak

The William Pollak Award for Excellence in Teaching at SSA is given to a member of the SSA faculty for exemplary graduate teaching. Given annually until 2003, the award is now presented every other year. On the occasion of his retirement, several of Professor Pollak's former students, colleagues, and others generously committed gifts to create an endowed fund which bears his name and which generates a cash prize for the award winner.

Regular, full-time faculty members from any division or professional school who teach SSA students are eligible for nomination. Nominations and selection are based on the faculty member's contributions to classroom teaching which enriches, deepens, and makes more rigorous the thinking and knowledge that students will bring to learning and doing throughout their careers. Students are asked to submit letters of support and a faculty committee makes the final selection.

Professor Pollak was a faculty member at SSA for 26 years, from 1976 to 2002. He taught courses that introduced students to economic analysis and that applied economics to a range of issues in social welfare. He also served as Associate Dean for Administration from 1983 to 1986, and as Deputy Dean for the Faculty from 1998 to 2001. He was the 1997-1998 recipient of the teaching award, which was renamed on his retirement in 2002.

SSA proudly recognizes the following teaching award winners:

2017: Yanilda Gonzalez
2015: Matthew W. Epperson
2013: Alida M. Bouris
2011: William Sites
2009: Susan Lambert and Stanley McCracken
2007: Judith A. Levine
2005: Gina M. Samuels
2003: Thomas Keller
2002: Waldo Johnson Jr.
2001: Julia R. Henly
2000: William Borden
1999: Karen Teigiser
1998: William Pollak
1997: Dolores Norton
1996: Sharon Berlin
1995: Melissa Roderick